My First Deal - Need Advice - Posted by Brian (CA)

Posted by JT - IN on May 30, 2001 at 24:44:33:

28 pitch @ usctrojans; wanting to protect your assets; have had things taken from you before; you didn’t mention anything about hiding in the bushes or wearing Bruno Mali shoes, but I think you must be…

why you must be OJ Simpson!

My First Deal - Need Advice - Posted by Brian (CA)

Posted by Brian (CA) on May 27, 2001 at 22:12:55:

Newbie here looking to finally pull the trigger.

The owner responded to a letter I sent out. He owns this house free and clear, has an old family friend in the place that he said he would feel really bad kicking out, the tenant is paying very low rent. He feels his only way out is to sell it. Though he did tell me that he is not super ?motivated? since it is producing a positive cash flow. I told him I would get back to him with a few different options.

He told me that he has done basically nothing to the house in 25 years except for some minor plumbing work. The place looks ok, overgrown yard, needs new roof but basically in good shape. I estimate $15,000 in repairs. Comps run $60,000 - $70,000 for these neglected properties. Once fixed up I can sell it for $110,000 or rent it for $850/mo.

What different ways can I structure an offer, or several different ones for him to choose from?

Thanks!

Re: My First Deal - Need Advice - Posted by JT - IN

Posted by JT - IN on May 28, 2001 at 19:05:22:

Brian:

It would be wonderful if Seller will sell the property to you subject-to; but very doubtful. Most subject-to situations are not on properties with NO mortgage and a not-to-motivated Seller. It could be one of your options that you present, and if you get the Seller to agree to subject to, you will go far in this business, my friend.