"Lease to Own" is copyrighted? - Posted by Crickett (Seattle)

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on May 24, 2003 at 16:32:34:

Oh you are so bad… :slight_smile:

“Lease to Own” is copyrighted? - Posted by Crickett (Seattle)

Posted by Crickett (Seattle) on May 23, 2003 at 11:39:26:

I have had my directional signs up for over 2 months now. I just got a call from a woman claiming that her business has the phrase “Lease to Own” copyrighted!

Anyone want to comment on this?

Crickett

Generic Wording - Posted by Gerald-DC

Posted by Gerald-DC on May 24, 2003 at 24:29:07:

I am an attorney who has over 13 years experience in Trademark proscution. While this is not legal advice, this woman who called you is a kook in my opinion.

“Rent to own” is a generic term when used with services where you rent property with an option to buy it. It is a generic term that cannot be trademark or copyrighted.

If I came to you with an IOU stating that you owed me $100,000 would you pay it? Of course not, her allegations are analagous to the above scenario.

Do not take it seriously, do not research it further, do not take her calls.

Her claims are completely baseless.

As far as her purported trademark certificate, it is probally it is not official and certainly not from the US Govt. If you want to fax it to me, you can at 301 649-1410, I’ll review it for you at no charge.

Re: “Lease to Own” is copyrighted? - Posted by RichV(FL)

Posted by RichV(FL) on May 23, 2003 at 18:40:25:

Crickett,

Tell her you belong to the Sosueme (So Sue Me) Indian tribe.

Thats a crock of if I ever heard it. That would be like me saying I trademarked “Home for rent”.

Regards,

RichV(FL)

Same lady did this to Kaiser too. LOL! - Posted by Stacy (AZ)

Posted by Stacy (AZ) on May 23, 2003 at 18:39:22:

It’s comical. This woman is a hoot. Read the replies here, from Joe’s 1991 post:

http://www.creonline.com/wwwboard/messages/arc_2001//arc_13/13840.html