Where to "Park" money in between deals - Posted by Marie

Posted by SteveA (FL) on July 18, 2005 at 09:58:02:

Marie:

I’ve only been investing since last October and I studied this stuff off and on for 5 years before I did something. One of my biggest concerns was that there weren’t enough deals to go around this small town.

I too live in a hot area and since October, I’m working my 4th deal now. I have a good broker. I told her a few weeks ago I was ready for another rehab and in 5 days I had signed an offer on another rehab with huge potential.

I never would’ve thought and I’m already working a plan to do this full time. Go for it & good luck!

Where to “Park” money in between deals - Posted by Marie

Posted by Marie on July 17, 2005 at 09:18:07:

Will seasoned Investors please give me ideas as to what they do to “Park” their money in between Real Estate Deals?

Obviously, liquidity is very important, but so is safety. If you park your money in CD’s, you lose money after inflation and taxes, and unless you invest in a “no risk CD” which makes even less in interest, you also will have a penalty to pay if you must withdraw early.

The returns on money you “park” while finding the next investment will be low if you keep the money liquid, so that low earning will offset any good returns you get by investing.

How do you manage this?

Thank you so much for your advice.

Marie

My House - Posted by Natalie-VA

Posted by Natalie-VA on July 19, 2005 at 08:21:38:

Hi Marie,

Instead of having a standard mortgage loan on my house, I have a HELOC. I draw the money from the HELOC to buy houses. When I get it back I pay my house back down. I’m only paying for the money when I’m using it, and living mortgage free when I’m not.

–Natalie

partials - Posted by Anne_ND

Posted by Anne_ND on July 18, 2005 at 13:41:34: