What is "Seasoning"? - Posted by Tim OH

Posted by Wolfgang on September 16, 2000 at 19:22:55:

I was asking my banker friend today if they have self-basting loans just to try to get one step ahead of these seasoning issues and he looked at me like I was a crazy man. I figured if they want seasoning that I would also take care of the basting issue if it comes up. Should I have him talk to Ed Garcia to get some education or how can I arrange this? Will lenders start requiring marinade also if they are getting picky about seasoning?

By the way-for your mother-in-law just use a good rub on her before grilling.

-Thanks in advance, Wolfgang

What is “Seasoning”? - Posted by Tim OH

Posted by Tim OH on September 16, 2000 at 03:22:47:

I’m just getting started and I don’t understand the term “seasoning”. Could someone explain it to me, please?

Thanks
Tim OH

Salt, pepper, Tobasco and all like that… - Posted by Bill Gatten

Posted by Bill Gatten on September 16, 2000 at 18:16:14:

Tim,

Phoenix Jim was right on (though I think a shot-putter would have made a better analogy than a baseball player…nobody plays baseball anymore). Texas Jim is correct too, but he’s one’a them comprehensive guys like Piper and Alcorn. They’re more interested in teaching you something worthwhile, than they are in having your understand what the h*** they’re taking about the first time through (keeps out the riff-raff that way).

Why couldn’t someone just say: A “seasoned thing” is a thing that’s not a “new thing,” despite the nature of the thing.

Examples:

Seasoned loan: An aged loan

Seasoned shoe: An old shoe

Seasoned barbecue baster: An old dual purpose medical and barbecue thing

Seasoned cantaloupe rind: An old, super stinky thing

A mother-in-Law: An o… (Oh, never mind)

And so on…

Bill

In “Simple Laymans’ Terms” - Posted by Jim L (Phx_AZ)

Posted by Jim L (Phx_AZ) on September 16, 2000 at 12:13:16:

Tim,