what is a land trust? - Posted by KeMi

Posted by Marty on March 01, 2002 at 13:37:05:

Yes, it is a method of asset protection (a way of owning property other than in your name) that a lot of investors use. Ron LeGrand, Bill Bronchick and others talk about it in their courses, and most attorneys and other professionals don’t have a clue as to what it is.

what is a land trust? - Posted by KeMi

Posted by KeMi on February 27, 2002 at 15:58:00:

I am very new in RE investing and have just completed a training last weekend. Just going thru my notes now I found this sentense which i forgot to ask the guy?

It reads:
“If you buy or control a property with the intent to sell or hold, it should be owned in a Land Trust with the beneficiary being a Corporation”
Can someone explain this to me please…is this some kind of “asset protection”
Do I need to register a corporation? what is a land trust anyway? is it a trust company? Can I buy properties as a Sole Proprietor?

1. Also, does anyone know the best way to get an inventory of buyers? if newspaper ad, please give an example.

Thanks. Will be waiting…

Land trusts explained (lengthy) - Posted by John Merchant,JD,EMS

Posted by John Merchant,JD,EMS on May 10, 2002 at 02:36:33:

A land trust is just a Trust whose primary asset is a piece of RE. Since it’s normally in a different name than that of the beneficiaries, it’s a form of privacy for the Trust’s owners/beneficiaries, because the only thing recorded is the name and mailing address of the Trustee.

I know people who have a number of separate trusts, one for each major piece of RE they own. If this is done, and they were to be sued for an injury or death caused on or by one of the properies, their potential loss could pretty well be limited to the value of that property alone, because a trust is a legal entity aside from the beneficiary and an outsider couldn’t sue the beneficiary for something the trust might have done.