Vacanvies - Posted by luap

Posted by Holly on November 17, 2008 at 11:44:25:

I am a broker in Alabama. Not a lot of new growth in this market. Many national retail franchises have put growth on hold. A lot of our new leases are coming from businesses downsizing to smaller buildings.

Vacanvies - Posted by luap

Posted by luap on November 13, 2008 at 09:12:23:

For those of you with commercial buildings in the office or industrial space, are you seeing or do you see an increase in vacancies do to the economy?

I’ve found a great property with 11% CAP, but I’m hesitant (scared?) to make the leap. Maybe I should stop watching the news.

Re: Vacanvies - Posted by GYP

Posted by GYP on November 13, 2008 at 12:32:12:

is CNN talking about cap rates? maybe I should start watching the news!

no one here can answer your question based on the minimal details you’ve given us. real estate markets are very localized. your market could be very strong and another market failing miserably

in MY market, office vacancies are rising, but not sky rocketing, new retail space is slow to lease and industrial seems stable. but this is my market and doesn’t tell you whether your 11% cap rate property is a good deal or not

Re: Vacancies - Posted by luap

Posted by luap on November 13, 2008 at 09:13:42:

umm yeah that would be Vacancies

Re: Vacanvies - Posted by Luap

Posted by Luap on November 13, 2008 at 15:29:46:

Thanks for the response.

Actually not looking for info on if 11% CAP rate is a good deal, I’ll take that all day long. Also not looking for info on vacancies my market, I know that as well.

What I was looking for is others experiences in their market. I know people like to say, your market localized, but what I’m concerned about is that we have a tsunami economic crisis that is going to show its effect on all markets.ie they are comparing it to the Great Depression, which would effect all markets. So just like to hear how its effecting those in their markets.