vacant lot

hello every one.

so I am new to the investing game. I am looking to get experience wholesaling but there is a huge opportunity literally a block away from where I live that I cant ignore. only thing is this opportunity is a little advanced for me at the moment.

there is a vacant lot, its been vacant for some time now. its big enough for two maybe three two family houses or maybe a small apartment building. how do I go about valuing and purchasing the lot for the right price, finding the right contractors, building codes etc. basically I want to know as much as I could so I can turn this opportunity into a reality.

also I don’t have the money to do this so ill have to find other investors and lenders to donate.

if you have any personal experience I will gladly take any advice you might have as well as suggestions for reading materials.

First things to check out

Assuming you located the owner, and he is willing to sell, then you’ll have to determine the zoning for the area, by checking through the zoning maps.

You just can’t plop an apartment building an area zoned for 1 to 3 family homes without the proper variances, through community board meetings and approvals. However, if you build a 2 family house in a 2 family zone, then no further approval is needed.

Value is determined by many factors, the area it’s in, what the highest and best use is, and whether any variances are needed to achieve the best use, and if such variances can be obtained.

Before taking any needless steps, take control of the property.
The easiest way that requires the least amount of money from you is an option.
The longer the option term, the better.

Once the property is tied up and under your control, find out what it’s worth and what can be done with it.

Options are very powerful tools in real estate. You will come across as a more sophisticated investor that the seller is much more likely to take you seriously.

Figure out the story behind it