Underground housing - Posted by Lee

Posted by chi ming on August 09, 2010 at 22:28:57:

nt

Underground housing - Posted by Lee

Posted by Lee on August 09, 2010 at 10:06:52:

Underground housing

I have no experience with underground houses and want to learn about them.

I found a strip of land 300 feet wide (North South) by 1320 feet long where the North property line is about 100 feet higher than the South property line. It would be perfect for underground structures? single or multifamily residential, commercial or storage. The North, West and East would be underground; the (glass) South wall would receive sun most of the year.

Anyone here ever bought, built or lived in an underground house or know anyone who has or does? I am really tired of insurance and electric companies raising rates. I think what I am really saying is I want choice, I?m tired of being controlled? they want to raise rates, I have to pay them!

I called my insurance agent to inquire about what they would charge for an underground house, the agent checked with corporate. Corporate said we don?t insure underground houses. I questioned the agent, why not? But didn?t receive a worthwhile answer, then thought, why would they?

No high wind risk, it can?t be blown down by a tornado or hurricane, no shingles to blow away.
Can be flooded but insurance companies don?t write policies for floods, the fed does.
Earthquake risk? Not really, structure would stay still (in the ground) and would not sway back and forth like above ground structures do.
Outside fire risk? (Would my house burn down in a wildfire?) No! Nothing on the surface to burn.
Inside fire risk? Sure! But use non-flammable interior surfaces and install a fire suppression system.
Inside fire risk? (second thought) One escape route. (unless it is built with two or more)
Inside risk of smoke due to fire? Build-in primary and backup smoke ventilation (fresh air system) system? need that anyway.
Small chance of burglary.

Pros: