To do it or not do it - that is the question - Posted by Raphael (Brooklyn,NJ)

Posted by Raphael on February 13, 2005 at 14:18:17:

Hi Anne.
Thanks for the reply. In answer to your question I am not in school in the sense that one day I will graduate. I am studying my religion for as long as I can financially do it.
As to reading, I’ve read extensively on real estate issues. I have reached the point that most of any new book is old stuff. (I still read for the new twists, though). As to researching the are I’d like to invest in I find it hard to do with my time constraints and the distance to that market.
My question really is whether I could pursue purchasing properties in the couple of weeks in the summer and then devote only 2-3 hours a week managing the manager.
Does anybody have any exp. with such a situation?

To do it or not do it - that is the question - Posted by Raphael (Brooklyn,NJ)

Posted by Raphael (Brooklyn,NJ) on February 11, 2005 at 12:10:29:

Hi there. Sorry if this is long, but please bear with me.
I need some help deciding to invest or not. I am 25 and have read widely on the subject of REI and finance in general. I suscribe to a Kiyosaki based view of personal finance. I firmly believe that real estate could help me gain assets and passive income and would like to acquire those before I pick up more liabilities (like buying a personal residence, for instance). The problem comes when we discuss time. More important to me than the state of my finances, is my ability to continue in my divinity studies. (I’d rather live my entire life in poverty if I can successfully stay in my religious studies and still support my family.) My studies give me a break between 2:00 and 3:00 every day and Friday afternoon for a couple of hours (if I arrange babysitting) and maybe a little time on Saturday night. I also have time in between semseters - three weeks in the summer and two weeks in both April and September.