To buy or not to buy - Posted by Katherine

Posted by Rick Hall on April 28, 2008 at 09:20:22:

Quick insight. 140K sales price 35k into rehab. That 35 will probably end up being 50k (trust me) closing costs, insurance, many other holding costs, I would not pay over 65k for this property as you stated it. That is a major rehab, they always suprise you. I just picked one up for 25k and rehabbed it to the tune of 45k (my original plan was 25k rehab) made a few improvements additionally to my planned rehab to make the place more user friendly, listed it at 112,900 and have it under contract for 107,500. I would not jump into such a project unless there is a lot of room for error and a lot of profit on the table to make it worth the risk.
Hope this helps, not to discourage!
Rick

To buy or not to buy - Posted by Katherine

Posted by Katherine on April 20, 2008 at 20:03:21:

Hi

I am a newbie to real estate investing. The area I live in in Canada is a sellers market at the moment.

Problems - Seller’s market, no tax sales - everyone has paid their taxes for this year according to the city and municipalities I"ve talked to and as far as I know - no foreclosures either.

Question - What is the best way to find a house in a market such as this one? I have looked at several and think a good one to start with should need cosmetic work and clean up?

Thanks

it is ALWAYS time to buy… - Posted by David Krulac

Posted by David Krulac on April 21, 2008 at 11:10:15:

good market, bad market, buyers market or sellers market, it is always a good time to buy.

To a person with a hammer everything looks like a nail.