tax question, can I do exchanges with these? - Posted by cg

Posted by albert on October 20, 2002 at 16:37:09:

yes that is the way to do it.

bert

tax question, can I do exchanges with these? - Posted by cg

Posted by cg on October 16, 2002 at 23:57:47:

I am a liscensed realtor and active investor. A few months ago I structured the purchase of a 9 unit apartment building with 2 other partners. One of the partners did all the work while the other partner put up the cash and also put title to the property into his LLC. I did not recieve a commission in this transaction but instead a third of the equity.
We are now going to sell the property and two of the three of us would like to use the equity and exchange here is my questions

1. am I able to exchange and use these proceeds to invest into a larger property.
  2. I know we will have to take title to the next property under the LLC what do I need to do so I am not taxed as ordinary income.
  3. My CPA said since I did not take a commision or had no agreement I will be taxed as ordinary income, is this true and how can a avoid that (can I do some kind of option?)
  4. how do we cash out the third partner without claiming the proceeds as boot?(cash out)

Also I have just signed escrow to buy another 4 units for 200k and recieved an offer for 310 on the same property. We accepted that offer and will close out the property and have the buyers close 2 days after we close. The reason behind this is so I take title so I can exchange. Can I do this and exchange since my original intent was to keep it for ever as an investment. Again I have no money into the deal I just structured the transaction and it is also in the name of the LLC.

Hope this all makes sense I want to cross my t’s and dot my i’s because this could cost me alot in taxes if not.

Thanks

CG

Re: tax question, can I do exchanges with these? - Posted by JHyre in Ohio

Posted by JHyre in Ohio on October 17, 2002 at 09:38:05: