Super-duper idea! Help me sort it out - Posted by Roni

Posted by Mark-NC on July 20, 2001 at 11:33:12:

Ronni,
Yes, Ryan homes have been around a while. They are very big in our area and what you are propossing to do is very common. One of the reasons they do it is to free up their working capitol.

I would think as long as the subdivision is filling up and selling homes it should work out OK.

Mark

Super-duper idea! Help me sort it out - Posted by Roni

Posted by Roni on July 19, 2001 at 15:34:14:

I’m new to real estate investing and I’m not astute on all the creative concepts. But my idea is to buy a model home in a new neighborhood for $420,000. According to the builder I have to put down a total of 6% before closing which is $25,000 (which I can raise). I will get a mortgage for the remainder at a rate of approx. 7%.

The builder will pay me a “rent-back” of $3000 for the next year-and-a-half. I am in PG county in Maryland and real estate is HOT! From all my research, I am sure I can sell the home in 18 months for a conservative profit ($50 - $60K).

The benefits are that I can have the mortgage paid for by the builder for over a year. I will start looking for a buyer 3 months before the builder stops paying the rent-back. AND I can write the taxes off (which I REALLY need a write-off).

How can I lose on this deal? I’m patient to earn money back. I don’t know of any other way I can double my money in 18 months.

Remember, I’m conservative and uninformed on a lot of other concepts. But I’m open to suggestions.

Whoa There! Do the numbers… - Posted by Irwin(CA)

Posted by Irwin(CA) on July 20, 2001 at 21:54:41:

Roni,
Property taxes and Insurance will create a negative cash flow. In my area that would be about $300/mo. Not good. Yes, you will be able to write off the taxes, but you only get a small part back in tax savings. It’s like spending $1 and getting back 40c.