subject to tenant filed bankrupcy - Posted by Zman

Posted by Nick O on September 11, 2003 at 13:56:29:

Like I said I’m not a pro… but very good to know. Hopefully others learn from this post like I just did & make them a cash offer before they have to file an eviction.

Nick O

subject to tenant filed bankrupcy - Posted by Zman

Posted by Zman on September 10, 2003 at 13:50:36:

A L/O tenant in a property i bought subject to stop paying, and when i filed for eviction, they filed chapter 13. What should i do next. I have enough to cover the $1,050.00 mortgage, but i`m losing my profit in the deal fast? HELP!!!

Re: subject to tenant filed bankrupcy - Posted by Nick O

Posted by Nick O on September 11, 2003 at 11:58:26:

I’m not a pro but what I would do is offer the tenant $2000 to move out ASAP & try and find them an apartment they can move into tomorrow. That way you can find a new tenant buyer and recoup the money you lost. Time is money in this business and things like this can go on longer than you think.
Good Luck!
Nick O

Re: subject to tenant filed bankrupcy - Posted by B.L.Renfrow

Posted by B.L.Renfrow on September 10, 2003 at 18:32:05:

You need to immediately find an attorney who is familiar with the bankruptcy system – and most attorneys aren’t, as it’s a very specialized and somewhat arcane area of law.

There are a couple of options. The first would be to have your attorney immediately file a motion for relief of stay. The court will schedule a hearing on the motion, and if granted, you can proceed immediately with eviction for nonpayment.

At best, it will take a month or two – and probably longer if the tenant answers and contests the motion.