Subject To??? - Posted by Paul S. Strauss

Posted by Tim Fierro (WA) on October 08, 2001 at 15:15:03:

You are so correct. I guess if the owner did want out, they want out. If the current owner could carry 3 more payments, or even 2 more for this ‘vacant’ place, you might have some grace time to close everything before your own money is even in the picture.

I have never done a subject-to, so I don’t know the ins and outs of how they work.

Subject To??? - Posted by Paul S. Strauss

Posted by Paul S. Strauss on October 08, 2001 at 13:35:14:

I am pretty new to RE investing (3 Years, only 2 deals) and the only form of “no-money down” financing I have used is the Lease Option. Of course once I did the deals I felt like RE investing is easy- no sweat in a couple of years I’ll replace my income and live happily every after- which is of course my aim. I haven’t lost my drive, but I’m running up against a wall lately. A trusted partner in my second lease option has proposed buying a home ‘subject to’ and frankly I don’t understand it entirely. The home is WAY out of my league in my opinion (FMV of around $3.1 million) but my partner says that we can buy the home ‘subject to’ with seller financing. The idea would be to offer the seller $2 million cash ‘subject to’ and then re-sell to investors/builders for around $2.1 to $2.5 million on a quick cash sale within the next 90 days. How will this work? My partner is very excited about this and appearantly so is the seller who is a big-time “Don’t wanter” of this currently vacant property in a well established, affluent neighborhood. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Re: Subject To??? - Posted by Bob at Get the Deed

Posted by Bob at Get the Deed on October 08, 2001 at 17:42:19:

Wow…I hope that I can help you.

First, even though we recommend getting the deed to pretty homes and taking over payments ‘subject to’ the mortgage…there are limits. Here’s why.