Structuring notes for MY Investors - Posted by dk

Posted by dk on September 22, 2006 at 07:33:23:

Yea that’s pretty sad. You and the other poster here make a good point. 9%, with no fees, commissions or some corp. fat cat stealing your money is hard to beat. Not to mention first lien security on real estate.

Structuring notes for MY Investors - Posted by dk

Posted by dk on September 12, 2006 at 09:02:57:

I buy houses, fix them up and rent to own to my tenants. Typical story and typically I buy foreclosures and use an equity line on another property. I have been doing it the same way now for coming up on 5 years. What I am working on now is establishing business credit, so I don’t have my name on the line, and utilizing private investors. Having done this now, and made good money I now have people that want in on this. However, I do not want a partner and all the hassles of that.
I am putting together an information packet to give to these investors and my goal is to get them a yield on their investment of 13%. I want to borrow the money, secured first lien on the property at 8%, interest only, 30 year amortization, balloon in five. I get the houses sold in that time frame so pay off usually is in 3 years.(Lets figure 5 though)
I have thought of giving a note at a dollar figure higher than the borrowed amount, but that works into the cash flow. Also, when I sell, offer a percentage of the net profits on top of the loan amount. Maybe a combination of both?
Finally, I want to sell them on using their IRA/Roth money as well. (Of course)
I would appreciate some help with the formulas for this. I have been out of the college finance class for Waaaaay too long, but surprisingly it’s coming back faster than I expected.
I have my new TI BA II Plus, my “Calculator Power” book is on order BUT I have to get my packet together ASAP.
Thank You in advance for your input

Quit theorizing and start talking to investors - Posted by John Merchant