Strategy/Tactics - Posted by Paul Zankowski

Posted by PZ on December 13, 2002 at 12:02:55:

Well, that is sound advice. And straight to the heart of the question. Thanks, Bill.

PZ

Strategy/Tactics - Posted by Paul Zankowski

Posted by Paul Zankowski on December 12, 2002 at 18:35:21:

I’m a lawyer, and I think I’m reasonably sophisticated about a lot of the stuff involved in the deals I do. And when I do a deal, I do not go out of my way to disguise these facts.

But, I’ve been wondering lately, should I (act less sophisticated than I am)? Is there any mileage to be gained from playing a sort of Colombo role?

I remember an episode of The Cosby Show, where Cliff Huxtable (Bill Cosby, of course) was buying a new car. He dressed in jeans and a reasonably worn but presentable sweatshirt. And he was acting sort of daft during the negotiations. Then a friend of his happened to come into the car dealership and mentioned to the salesman that Cliff was a doctor and that his life was a lawyer. And the message I took away from watching that segment was that – basically – Cliff’s negotiating leverage was shot by the revelation of his and his spouse’s station in life.

Is that true? Anybody have an experience in this regard – taking pains to conceal your sophistication from the counterparties in the transaction? Is it worth it?

For me, I’m concerned, it’s sort of an ego thing that doesn’t help me in negotiating. In other words, I flash my sophistication at the other side to make sure they know I’m reasonably intelligent just because (stupidly) I’m worried that otherwise they’ll think I’m not. And I can’t help but wonder if this ego trick costs me money (because maybe I could get away with more tricks by lulling the other side to sleep with apparent less-than-intelligence, for lack of a more artful description). To summarize – who cares if the other side thinks I’m dumb if (a) I’m not and (b) by them thinking I’m dumb I get more than I would if they thought I wasn’t?