Storage facility HELP (semi-long post) - Posted by John TX

Posted by Brian (No CA) on December 30, 2004 at 13:40:34:

I appraise mini storage facilities, among other things. Never actually owned one though, maybe someday when the cap rates creep back up and everyone starts looking to unload their inventory because the market is saturated. Seems to be the way things are headed, at least in these parts.

Good luck!

Storage facility HELP (semi-long post) - Posted by John TX

Posted by John TX on December 29, 2004 at 16:53:52:

hello everyone,

This is a first class community, may I say,thanks so much to everyone here for you contributions.

I’m not new to creonline but I am fairly new to commercial RE. I have been an “S” since highschool and have bought built and sold several small businesses for decent returns. In the last two years, I have , become a “B” ,delved into residential RE and have done some pretty good deals in that time, but I need some advise on a storage facility I am involved with.

1. Any Ideas on market analisys for a mini warehose facility?

(Our population just hit 200k and the growth is finally expanding on three sides of our city. Lots of new residential units and storage facilities coming online, as well as many inferstructure projects)

1. Facility is located across the street from a large residential development (1sq mi with 200-350k houses)
    58 units are complete, with enough materials to finish 80 units. cashflow will be probably 4k per month at capacity, and no Debt service.

Our plan is to expand with climate control units starting with phase 1 : 60x 200 building with storefront, mailboxes ups, fed ex and or Dhl drop, and possibly RV storage. we will still have apx 3 acres left to build on for future growth. The location is just on the outskirts of town on a Planned Halfsection. this is now a two lane highway with a 50’ easment along the frontage.

Anyone experienced, willing to input will be greatly appreciated.

Also open to HML’s