So, what is a "short sale"? - Posted by Pablo

Posted by Ben (OH) on February 03, 2003 at 12:34:15:

Yes. I agree. Usually it indicates seller to get no money except in FHA deals where the seller can get up to $1000 moving expenses.

So, what is a “short sale”? - Posted by Pablo

Posted by Pablo on January 31, 2003 at 13:13:20:

I keep reading that term on this site, but, searching the archives, I find lots of discussion about it, but no straighforward definition. Help a newbie here, will ya?

Thanks.

Pablo

Can you flip it? - Posted by Cat - Tx

Posted by Cat - Tx on February 01, 2003 at 24:11:42:

NT

A Short Sale Is… - Posted by Sean

Posted by Sean on January 31, 2003 at 13:21:10:

…where the lender agrees to take less than the full amount owed for the mortgage.

Imagine a guy bought a house for $100,000 and it’s now worth $80,000. He still owes $85,000. You can apply to the lender for it to take less than the full amount. It helps for the guy to be behind on his payments.

Re: So, what is a “short sale”? - Posted by jerry-IL

Posted by jerry-IL on January 31, 2003 at 13:19:32:

First suggestion, check the archives.

A short sale is a discount of the balance owed on a mortgage. When the lender believes that the chances of collecting on the loan in the originally-agreed-upon manner are low, that lender may discount the balance to cut their losses and avoid the long and costly process of foreclosure in court, reselling through a realtor, etc. There is usually a formal procedure and paperwork.

Re: Can you flip it? - Posted by Rob FL

Posted by Rob FL on February 01, 2003 at 14:01:36:

Yes, it’s best to flip it with a double closing though. Otherwise the short selling lender might get upset and nix things when they see the settlement statement showing an assignment fee. I’m speaking from experience here.

Re: Can you flip it? - Posted by Ben (OH)

Posted by Ben (OH) on February 01, 2003 at 15:21:34: