should i walk away? - Posted by paula

Posted by Lloyd Cook, Los Angeles on April 12, 2002 at 08:54:19:

How fast do you think you can fix up and sell? Maybe you have 10K in equity if all goes right but you will have holding costs, selling costs, fix up and over run costs. Not only that, a loan at 10%!! It looks like a pass to me.

should i walk away? - Posted by paula

Posted by paula on April 11, 2002 at 20:30:11:

i’m just getting started. I actually posted last week regarding bandit signs. I finally got the courage (thanks to the people that responded) and spent last friday putting out bandit signs. I have had 2 calls, one of them being this situation.
here is the deal…
a recent widow that fell down the stairs and now needs a hip replacement. She is now unable to work for the next 3 months. She lives in a mobile home that needs her metal roof replaced. she got estimates for the roof and that will run $5,800. She has a rental house. The house is in a nice neighboorhood, is a 3 bedroom, 2 bath. Its a frame house and 1/2 acre lot with lake access. Houses are going from $105-$250k. I think this house is worth $105k. This lady owes $79,999. The house needs about $15k worth of work. The mortage is assumable at 10%. She is willing to do a lease option, or hold a note- but she needs $82k out of it.

I offered $79,999, and to pay the closing costs. Am i an idiot? should i do this deal? if so, what is the best way to go here.

all thoughts are welcome and would be most appreciated.

Re: should i walk away? - Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA)

Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA) on April 12, 2002 at 15:51:38:

Paula-----------