should i rent or sale? - Posted by David Gracy

Posted by David Krulac on October 29, 2001 at 18:27:45:

`

should i rent or sale? - Posted by David Gracy

Posted by David Gracy on October 28, 2001 at 10:04:12:

I’m a newbie wondering if my first Real Estate investment should be the house that I live in now. I purcharsed it 2 years ago with an FHA loan 7.87%(3% down) for $140K, and it’s now worth $155K. My mortgage payment is $1,450.00. Rentals for my size house are going for 1,400.00. Doesn’t sound like I should rent it out since my rental income would be less than my current mortgage payment. However, I could refincance at 6.5% which might bring my monthly payment to $1,300.00. Any thoughts or ideas???

One more thing. I have to move in a few months regardless…so I either sale it or rent it. Thanks inadvance for any advice

I must be missing something - Posted by Alex Gurevich, TX

Posted by Alex Gurevich, TX on October 29, 2001 at 10:37:20:

David,
While somebody below suggested that you COULD sell your home without a broker, unless you are in a hot market this task could be far more challenging than you think. The main reason is lack of exposure. It’s hard to get firm statistics on that, but I don’t believe the figures for FSBO sales are at 15% (as was stated) or even anywhere close to that.

If you go with a standard route of selling through a realtor, you’ll have nothing to show for your efforts. The cost of sale via a realtor is about 10% (6-7% commissions and 3-4% closing costs). That would leave you with nothing.

Under the circumstances I have to assume that the post about $500,000 tax free capital gain was a joke. You won’t have to worry about capitals gains to begin with.