Seller Carry Backs and Forgiveable 2nd Help! - Posted by Charlie in Milw WI

Posted by Mike on September 08, 2001 at 20:43:48:

I’m new too but it looks like the seller wants you to qualify for an 80% loan this means you will not need private mortgage insurance (PMI)this will save you some money each month. A forgiveable 2nd is just that he can rip it up or whatever, becareful tho some have clauses like forgivable only after you have lived in the property a certain number of years like 5 or 10.
Get the seller to pay closing costs and you have a deal for no money down.

Good Luck.

Seller Carry Backs and Forgiveable 2nd Help! - Posted by Charlie in Milw WI

Posted by Charlie in Milw WI on September 08, 2001 at 17:50:00:

I am new to real estate investing and this would be my 1st property

If anyone can help with this all posts are appreciated.
Ive found a 3/2 duplex that is in distressed condition
assessed value is 37k seller asking 28k and has indicated that they are willing to carry back a forgiveable 20% 2nd mortgage?
The property could require about 2,500. to update electric paint and other assorted cosmetics. Rents would then be 400.00 each

What is a seller carry back on a 2nd mortgage and how can it benefit me if they forgive it? Why even do a second if it is forgiveable?..Tearing up the contract that is?

Does this deal make sense?

Re: Seller Carry Backs and Forgiveable 2nd Help! - Posted by Ronald * Starr

Posted by Ronald * Starr on September 08, 2001 at 21:17:43:

Charlie in Milw WI------

Probably headed for jail. Don’t want to do a “forgivable 2nd.”

You might check if there is city or county special program to fix up properties in that area. You might get a loan that is purchse price plus fix-up costs.

I agree with DewCO, I would figure a minimum of $3K a unit for minor fixup, cosmetics, etc. More than that if it is in “distressed” physical “condition.”

Does the deal make sense?