Seeing eye dog for a tenant - Posted by David

Posted by Todd W(CO) on July 05, 2001 at 01:16:22:

…reach further on this one. An investor in my area had to do the same thing, but had a contract mandated which said the tenant had to sign a lease of occupancy for up-to but not limited to five years, for changes made to property. His reasoning was that if they decided to leave after the current lease expired (3 months after alterations were made) it would be a waste of time and money. He continued to tell them the alterations would de-value the property and make it harder to market, they excepted. In my personal oppinion it would probably improve the property thus making it MORE valuable, what do you think? I am not an expert on the subject…yet. anyway thought I would share this info with you.
just my thoughts
Todd Williamson(co)

Seeing eye dog for a tenant - Posted by David

Posted by David on July 04, 2001 at 11:36:23:

Help!

I just showed a unit to some prospective tenants who are blind. We normally charge a $25 a month pet fee. The girl informed us that we could not legally charge for a seeing eye dog. In this pc world, I have no trouble believing that. But the thing is, it is still a dog, prone to doggy indiscretions. Has anyone out there encountered this? Is the dog even considered a pet? I have a very strict pet agreement; can I “legally” have the tenants sign this? If so, than by definition it is a pet, so why can’t I charge for it? But if it is not considered a pet, and I deny them on the basis of the dog, than I could be sued for discrimination. If it makes any difference, this is a section 8 situation. Husband and wife, both blind. Any wisdom will be greatly appreciated.

Re: Seeing eye dog for a tenant - Posted by Jim Locker

Posted by Jim Locker on July 04, 2001 at 20:14:14:

Of course you can charge extra for the dog, if that is your ordinary and customary policy.