Section 8 - Posted by Tim

Posted by Sailor on April 06, 2007 at 08:28:16:

Yes, but all homes have to pass inspection.

Tye

Section 8 - Posted by Tim

Posted by Tim on April 06, 2007 at 07:59:45:

I’m new at this MH stuff so please bear with me. Can a mobile home qualify for Section 8 rent?

Thanks

Tim

Re: Section 8 - Posted by Don_ny

Posted by Don_ny on April 07, 2007 at 18:12:21:

I have a unit rented section 8 right now and what Tony says is correct as far as I know. My tenants are longer term, do not complain, and a 1966 home has passed inspection twice. And rent is $200 over average. So far so good.

Re: Section 8 - Posted by Tony Colella

Posted by Tony Colella on April 06, 2007 at 08:44:06:

Tye is correct, mobile homes can be rented out to section 8 tenants and this is one of our preferred tenants for a variety of reasons. The value of the section 8 partnership is subject to the local administrators willingness to make the program work. If you have a fair housing office then you are in business.

For example, we have found that many of the assumptions about section 8 have proven to be false. We find that the section 8 tenants keep our homes in better repair than non-section 8 tenants because these homes are inspected by section 8 and the tenant does not wish to take the risk of losing their benefits for not taking care of a home. The section 8 waiting list in this area can run several years so they do not want to lose that benefit entirely or even risk having to be put on a waiting list again.