Roth IRA's for rehabs? - Posted by Ron (MD)

Posted by Geoffrey Faivre-Malloy on December 14, 2000 at 09:48:54:

I can understand how you feel about this. However, I also think that EVERYTHING that is said on this board should be confirmed whether the person who said it is an expert or not!

I view what’s said here as a starting point. It’s up to the person reading to get more information on the subject and if that requires speaking to a lawyer who can give legal advice then so be it.

Now, as I stated in my original post - I am not an expert on this. Translation - this may be wrong but this is what I have heard. I even followed it up with references to places where you can get more information (midoh.com).

Having said all of this - I am NOT trying to be confrontational and hope I’m not coming across that way. The issue of self-dealing is one I hadn’t heard of. Some people are obviously doing REI through their IRAs so there must be some way around it.

I’ll shut up on the subject now (honest) and go back to reading…Thanks for your thoughts on the matter JP. :wink:

G-Man

Roth IRA’s for rehabs? - Posted by Ron (MD)

Posted by Ron (MD) on December 13, 2000 at 06:31:53:

I’d love to do some of my rehabs out of a Roth IRA. The catch is, I can only put $2,000 into a Roth, which doesn’t begin to pay for a rehab deal. The IRA can borrow money, but only if it’s a non-recourse loan (which I assume will be very hard to get).

Rules prohibit self-dealing, so I cannot lend money to my IRA, nor can my company, my parents or children. I’m trying to find a way to do this. Right now, the best I can do is to lend $50,000 to a friend’s investment company and then have my IRA borrow $50,000 from the same company (or one of his other companies). I’m not crazy about this because it may still be construed as self-dealing and, also, I’d rather not be lending and borrowing large sums from a friend.

Any suggestions?

Thx.

Ron Guy

Re: Roth IRA’s for rehabs?-Who? - Posted by Shaun