Risk Assessment - Posted by John Brice

Posted by Ronald * Starr on October 12, 2001 at 15:31:08:

John-------------

Whether your credit report does you any good or not will probably depend upon the strategy that you adopt to buy properties. If you follow some of the approaches discussed by other people on CREONLINE.COM, you will not even need good credit.

If you attempt to buy properties with standard purchase techniques, you may find it impossible to buy property without a job or other sources of income.

In my opinion, to expect to start making money with real estate in less than about four to six months is probably unrealistic. Although, according to the posts of other people, it may be possible if you either try to do quick “wholesale” flips of rundown properties or do mobilhome flips. I am not an expert on these approaches.

They seem to offer quick returns, but there have been many posts by people saying they had tried for several months to do these types of deals and they had not been successful. Not knowing you, I have no way to estimate what success you might have.

I suggest that you might be better off getting a job if you can and doing the real estate investing on a part-time basis. It is hard to pay bills when you don’t have steady income.

Good Investing***Ron Starr

Risk Assessment - Posted by John Brice

Posted by John Brice on October 10, 2001 at 23:47:15:

I want to start investing, but my starting financial situation is grim right now. My basic question is this…

What’s the best way for me to start based on my current situation? If you were “here” once, please let me know how you got out of it too. :slight_smile:

DETAILS: my current situation…

1. Job was eliminated “downsized” several months ago.

2. Currently living off of loan collections from people I loaned money to in the past.

3. Also having to use credit cards for everyday expenses.

4. Credit card debt around $20K right now.