Residential or Commercial? Which is best way? - Posted by Bill

Posted by Dan on July 07, 2007 at 10:52:10:

Shoot me an email (dneville@beipartners.com) with your number…I can give you a call next week to speak further.

Have a good weekend

Residential or Commercial? Which is best way? - Posted by Bill

Posted by Bill on April 20, 2007 at 10:06:18:

Hi All experience investors,

I am a beginner and I am deciding whether i should start and concentrate in residential or commercial real estate investing?

Can any of you experienced investors give me some advice and directions, particularly, i want to know:

1. which is easier to start, residential or commercial?
  2. which route can acheive finacial freedom faster? (I know it take many years to do that, but i want to know which side is more doable?)
  3. which route can really build wealth in the long run… not just monthly cash flow?
  4. can you provide me a sample road-map to achieve financial freedome through commercial real estate? (eg. start buying a small store, rent it out, then another, then rent it out, then wait for a few years, sell the store, buy a bigger property … etc.) I understand people usually invest in residential rental real estate, one house at a time, and when they retire, they can have monthly cash flow for their retirement… But i am not looking to do this. I am looking to invest in real estate and that will become my business, and i plan to keep investing and grow the company. Sam Zell is my role model… I am not sure whether I can achieve the same success, but that is my direction - to build a investment company in real estate. Maybe that sound naive… but that is my dream, and I am equipping myself to do that.

Any advice will be very much appreciated. If you have done that… please kindly share your experience and insight. What kind of experience, backgroud, capital will be necessary to achieve that kind of success.

Thanks so much for all the info you guys shared on this site!

Bill