Quit Claim Deed - Ron ******** Star - Posted by sam (NC)

Posted by Ronald * Starr on September 03, 2001 at 21:26:47:

Sam(NC)--------

Sam, I studied a little bit the mortgage foreclosures in NC a year or so ago, but I have not studied the tax sale law.

Rather than give you bad information, I suggest two things. Read the state statutes on the collection of delinquent property taxes by tax sale. Be sure and read anotated statutes which will cite court case decisions on the meaning of the laws. This may require going to the county law library, although you would be well advised to first check on the internet.
The other posibility is to get advice from a knowledgeable attorney. Most attorneys will probably not be very knowledgeable on this topic, and may inadvertently give you wrong advice. You might check with the treasurer or tax collectors office and ask if there are some attorneys who have done lawsuits for tax lien/sale buyers. You can also check in the court files for taxlien/sale lawsuits and contact those attorneys.

You can also get a copy of the state law by buying Roy Stubblefield’s book for the state. For about the same price you can get John Beck’s “Free and Easy” course, which covers all the USA and Canada. I found a telephone number to buy it by putting in john beck in the search engine and reading the posts. It might have been in the Carleton Sheets forum or the main forum. Roy Stubblefield will e-mail his manual and take credit card orders, so you can get about one day delivery. John Beck’s course takes about 18-20 days to arrive.

I do not like right of redemption after buying a property. I got a house in Wace, TX for $5K last year and had it redeemed about three months later. I prefer getting a good deed and not worrying about redemptions.