Question for full timers (part 2) - Posted by Ed Howard

Posted by Sean on August 30, 2005 at 14:49:01:

Pittsburgh, PA

Question for full timers (part 2) - Posted by Ed Howard

Posted by Ed Howard on August 29, 2005 at 11:36:41:

I’ve read with interest the ‘Question for full timers’ thread and was interested in the varying opinions. So interested in fact that I’ve realized that I could use some help too.

I’m about to come into a little cash ($50-60K) and I want to invest it in RE. I have a steady job that I’m not planning to give up and while I’d like to make some ‘quick money’, I have the time and am patient enough to also take a slower approach.

I’m new at this and I’m looking for advice. Rehabs, wholesaling, rental properties or . . . ? Thanks in advance for any ideas and suggestions.

Ed

Re: Question for full timers (part 2) - Posted by Jeff Gehbauer

Posted by Jeff Gehbauer on August 29, 2005 at 18:10:14:

Ed - join a local real estate investing group and network with the investors in that group. Quiz those investors and learn from those who have done the deals. Finally, let them know what you are looking for.

Thanks - Posted by Ed Howard

Posted by Ed Howard on August 29, 2005 at 17:00:48:

I just wanted to take a minute to say ‘Thanks’ to those of you that have responded. I truly need to be educated and with this forum and the books I’m reading I feel like I’m progressing.
Sean, around here the median price of a house was $224K last month - so buying a house for cash and renting it out is impossible. I really don’t know anything about wholesaling houses, but I am intrigued by the idea and would appreciate any thoughts or suggestions on reading materials.
Once again - Thanks to all of you!
Ed

Re: Question for full timers (part 2) - Posted by John B. Corey Jr.

Posted by John B. Corey Jr. on August 29, 2005 at 13:35:27:

Ed,

There is no good answer or there are many good answers.