Problem With Cash Sale? - Posted by BenT

Posted by seldon on August 08, 2010 at 05:35:09:

why are you so all fired up to deposit your cash in a bank anyway? maybe a good time to think about investing in a good safe or saftey deposit box.
cash is and will always be king,physical gold is a very close second.
Its not the sellers worry where the cash from a real estate transaction comes from as long as you report all your income from the sale.

Problem With Cash Sale? - Posted by BenT

Posted by BenT on August 05, 2010 at 17:30:43:

So I’ve been renting a low-end property now for the last 8 months or so. The tenant periodically has asked me if I would sell the house to him. I have always said yes, and we agreed on a potential price.

Yesterday he showed up with $5000 cash…in $100 bills. I wasn’t especially surprised because he always pays his rent in cash as well, as do many of my other tenants. His intent was to pay the remainder of the purchase price, in cash, at several different points in August.

So I took the $5K down to the bank to deposit. They asked for my ID, because of the “size” of the cash deposit. Now I’m wondering whether selling for actual cash is a problem. I know the banks used to report cash deposits of $10K or more. But in this case the initial deposit was half of that, and they were already asking for ID. And there will be more during August…approximately $40K.

Any thoughts on this? Potential problems???

BenT

Re: Problem With Cash Sale? - Posted by Ken

Posted by Ken on August 06, 2010 at 07:16:33:

The bank is supposed to report $10000 or any suspicious amount.If you do not put cash in your account that may have looked suspicious to them.Post office money orders are good,Wal Mart also has cheap money orders.

Re: Problem With Cash Sale? - Posted by James - Michigan Investor

Posted by James - Michigan Investor on August 05, 2010 at 22:47:15:

BenT,

Get a new bank. Yours sucks.

Sincerely,
James