Problem recording a deed - Posted by MHB

Posted by Kathaleen on April 02, 2003 at 14:41:17:

FYI: I am an attorney in Florida. If people want me to review their documents and make sure that they comply with the laws, I charge them at least twice as much as I would if I just prepared the documents.

Why? Because I already put a great deal of time and effort into my documents and I know (and more importantly, understand) what they say. If I have to sit down and review someone else’s documents, then I have to stop and analyze what those documents mean when all of the documents are reviewed as part of one transaction. Reading garbage drafted by other people is not one of my favorite things to do. I’d rather just rely on my documents which I know are good in my jurisdiction.

Also, as a Florida attorney, most of my clients to seem to have a son, daughter, father, mother,brother or sister practicing in another state and ask me if I would be willing to explain whatever we’re doing to their lawyer relative. My standard response is that I will be happy to do that for double my usual fee. That’s because I don’t much care for explaining Florida wills and trusts law to attorneys who practice corporate or criminal law (is there a difference between the two?) in another state.

Good luck to everyone everywhere on getting their documents right.

BTW, I have never met a mean lady at the court house. Maybe they’re nicer to attorneys or maybe we are just lucky in this part of Florida because everyone I’ve met in Recording has been super nice.

Kathaleen

Problem recording a deed - Posted by MHB

Posted by MHB on April 01, 2003 at 22:50:40: