Partnership - Posted by Bruce

Posted by Jason (SC) on February 13, 2006 at 11:23:49:

you are right there is normally a Due on Sale clause in most mortgages. I wouldn’t be concerned with it. ihave heard of a few times note holders calling in mortgages, but it seems to be few and far between. As long as the mortgagee is a member of the LLC I think you don’t have anything to worry about.

Of course i’m not a lawyer or an accountant, So my answers are just my opinions

jasn

Partnership - Posted by Bruce

Posted by Bruce on February 06, 2006 at 07:21:51:

A friend and I are interesting in forming a partnership and purchasing a few residential rental properties. We have a few questions about financing.

If we want to be 50-50 partners does this mean we have to apply for mortgages jointly in order to share in the debts equally? If so will this limit our ability to borrow if we are both considered liable for the same debts?

If we form an LLC to limit our liability does that mean we have to apply for a mortgage in the name of the LLC? Will this make our mortgage rates higher? If so how can we get the protection we want without paying higher rates?

One of us has no significant income right now due to a career change but has plenty of assets and great credit (FICO of around 780). The other has very stable employment income, not nearly as much in assets. How does this impact our ability to obtain mortgages and the approach to applying separately or jointly.

THANKS for any help you can provide!

Re: Partnership - Posted by Jason (SC)

Posted by Jason (SC) on February 11, 2006 at 22:26:16: