Option Consideration - Posted by Napoleon(NC)

Posted by Charles-DFW on July 15, 1999 at 01:48:03:

I believe what is at issue is the exchange of “consideration”, ie, money or something of value,
and value is relative to the parties.

If all you have is an option “contract” where the seller gives you the option to buy his house within so many years at a certain price. I think it could be argued that there is not a valid contract because there is no exchange of consideration.

However, with a lease/option contract, It could be argued that leasing the house, is the consideration given for obtaining the option.

I am not a lawyer, and am not giving legal or RE advice, this is just my opinion.

Option Consideration - Posted by Napoleon(NC)

Posted by Napoleon(NC) on July 14, 1999 at 08:54:15:

Hi guys,
I am looking into a lease purchase deal on a town home with a very motivated seller. The selling price of the house is 120k. How much of an option consideration should I offer and how much should I expect from the tenant/buyer if I am going to sell it to them for 129k. Please provide some sample terms.

Thanks

Re: Option Consideration - Posted by Chuck DeFiore

Posted by Chuck DeFiore on July 15, 1999 at 23:13:06:

In Las Vegas, we don’t offer, just write in $1.00 for option consideration. Our contract states “and other valuable consideration”.

Hope this helps,

Chuck

Re: I Love It - Posted by Tim (OH)

Posted by Tim (OH) on July 14, 1999 at 15:43:25:

The previous responses to this question are from people that very plainly identify themselves as NOT L/O experts. However, I’ve beens studying Lease/Options and would agree with EACH and EVERY response. Just goes to show you that the basic principals of finding MOTIVATED sellers and working the best WIN/WIN deal has no boundaries.

Tim(OH)

Re: Option Consideration - Posted by Brad Crouch

Posted by Brad Crouch on July 14, 1999 at 12:25:28:

Napoleon,