Not sure Which Way to Go....Should First Deal be a Rehab? - Posted by rocka fella

Posted by JPiper on July 05, 2000 at 11:05:42:

The basic rule revolves around your “intent” for the property. Basically you would need to show that your intent was to rent the property and hold. And by the way, you would need to 1031 into another investment property.

This all presents a problem in the scenario of the rehab and sell strategy…especially if you’re doing them on any type of frequency.

But if you did rent, my CPA feels that a 2 year hold is the conservative time period to use. One year might fly…but again keep in mind that the IRS will examine your “intent”…of which holding period would only be one element.

JPiper

Not sure Which Way to Go…Should First Deal be a Rehab? - Posted by rocka fella

Posted by rocka fella on July 03, 2000 at 15:08:27:

Hi!..

I am not sure which to focus on with the RE thing. Since I am a novice should I be looking at Rehabs? Or go for something already livable that I can purchase low and resell at market value. Or sould I simply try and get control of property with no down deals? If I have 5 to 10k cash do I have an advantage over many or does that not really matter? I also have perfect credit. Am I in a good position to do any type of deal? How about Mobile homes…a good move?

1031exchange / Other Ramblings - Posted by KennS

Posted by KennS on July 04, 2000 at 12:47:29:

I got your email concerning your situation and you mentioned you needed more info on the 1031.

1031 Exchange-
It is the last great investment tool that the IRS offers us. It allows us to sell investment properties (after a rehab or a flip) and not pay any taxes on the profit. You will basically transfer your equity over to a different property. It is essential in building wealth via real estate. For all the details (must be done right) goto http://www.realtyexchangers.com/index.shtml
They have a 1031 manual online.