Non-Owner Occupied - Please Help!! - Posted by Newbie

Posted by Dimpil on October 18, 2003 at 06:50:04:

I was speaking of a bank line of credit based on your credit, business plan etc. I have do not know how to do it, which is why I want to go to Ed G’s seminar.

Non-Owner Occupied - Please Help!! - Posted by Newbie

Posted by Newbie on October 17, 2003 at 19:26:53:

Hello, I’m new to this and have been reading and researching this great site. About to buy my first Triplex and was able to get 95% non-owner occupied loan due to good credit. However, the interest is only fixed for 2 years and not that low, 5.7%. I want to keep the property for longer but don’t want to chance the higher interest rates. I know I can do better owner occupied, but I live 3 hours away from the property and my broker told me lenders would be suspicious. Other investors have told me that you always need to put in at least 20% for investor property, which is not what I’m reading here. My questions are:

1. how do you get good loans where you put little down but the terms are still as good as owner occupied? Or do people just lie and always state owner occupied? How do lenders believe that after a few times?
  2. if you have to keep taking out non-owner occupied loans, how does anyone ever have enough cash to put down more than 5% to keep your interest and payments low enough?? (so you don’t have a negative cash flow)
  3. I also have a line of credit on my current home which I’m thinking of taking out to buy a second property, but I hesitate because isn’t that just using debt to pay for debt?
    Please Help! Thanks!

Re: Non-Owner Occupied - Please Help!! - Posted by Wayne-NC

Posted by Wayne-NC on October 19, 2003 at 14:55:55: