newbie question about realtor - Posted by Mulligan

Posted by Natalie Smith on January 13, 2005 at 17:28:42:

It’s possible that John doesn’t think you are a motivated buyer since you are not sure what you can afford. He may not want to invest more time in you until you get your financing in order.

With that said, you need to talk with a loan officer or two. Find out what you can qualify for and how much you want to spend. They are not the same thing. Just because you can qualify for 100k does not mean you should spend that much.

Also, make sure the loan officer knows you are looking at fixer uppers. They usually require special financing.

Good luck!

newbie question about realtor - Posted by Mulligan

Posted by Mulligan on January 13, 2005 at 15:54:57:

I’m a newbie looking to buy my first home… I hope it to be a fixer upper and eventually an income property. I have a realtor (let’s call him John) who has been showing me condos for a while, but I have also found quite a few houses on my own that I am interested in (I use MLS search engines online). John has agreed to show me some of the houses soon. However, I am worried the house I want might sell and feel like I should just call the agent that the listing is given under (let’s call her Sally) for a quicker showing. But if I did that, and bought the house, to the best of my understanding, John would get no commission.