Newbie Mobile Home Investing in Northeast - Posted by Leidia

Posted by Don-NY on July 17, 2003 at 08:06:53:

I, and several other people are doing “Lonnie” type deals in upstate NY. Where are you located?

Newbie Mobile Home Investing in Northeast - Posted by Leidia

Posted by Leidia on July 16, 2003 at 18:24:46:

Hi,

I am trying to get started in the Mobile home market in the Northeast. Is this a bad idea? Does anyone have suggestions of a good state to start in that is in a decent price range?

I could travel, but figured as a newbie I would want easy access to the properties.

Any ideas?

Thanks for any advice

Re: Newbie Mobile Home Investing in Northeast - Posted by Michael (NJ)

Posted by Michael (NJ) on July 17, 2003 at 09:20:07:

Leidia:

What part of the Northeast do you have in mind? For example, I understand that Lonnie-deals work in a place like rural upstate NY, however, they do NOT work where I live, which is in the NYC suburbs of NJ. There are several reasons that my particular location is NOT good for Lonnie-deals:

1. There are relatively few MHPs in this area. Apratment bldgs are much more common – my guess is because the land prices here are so high, that there is more value to building into the sky.
  2. Prices of MHs, even old, wobbly-boxes are very high - like try starting a $10,000 for a 30 year old 2 bdrm/1 bth piece of junk! Average prices of used MHs less than 10 yrs old are at least $20,000 — don’t ask me why they are so high, that is the market.
  3. With such high prices, Lonnie-deals can’t work well, since your investment will not be returned for several years, and the loan period would have to be at least 8 yrs or more to make the payments low enough.

I am not saying you can’t scrape together one or two marginal Lonnie deals in my area, but it certainly wouldn’t be a booming business.

Now in places like upstate NY, I understand that the market is completly different.