New investor seeks advice - Posted by Tim

Posted by Tim on August 04, 2008 at 19:56:30:

Thanks for the advice! You are correct in your line of thinking with regards to most hotels and restaurants, however my girlfriend has the potential to work in a multi-million dollar private country club, so it is a bit different. Anyway, your advice is greatly appreciated!

On another note, only two posts so far? I was really hoping to get a bunch of sound advice from some seasoned investors out there. Anyone else care to pass on some advice to a newbie?

New investor seeks advice - Posted by Tim

Posted by Tim on August 04, 2008 at 13:45:19:

Hi all-

First off I’d like to say hello and introduce myself. My name is Tim, and I currently live in PA. I graduated last year from Penn State with a BA in Business Management. I am looking into getting into real estate investing in about two years in Southern Florida. My girlfriend is entering her Junior year (also at Penn State) in the Hotel and Rest. Mgmt (HRIM) major. Through some networking at PSU, she hopes to land a six-figure management/sales job at a private country club. Due to some excessive spending habits (that are now under control! haha) we have around $15k in debt (but thankfully I graduated with NO loans as will she). My plan as of now is to use these next two years to educate myself as much as possible about real estate investing while at the same time becoming totally debt-free (no loans or car payments, all CC debt so once it’s gone, it’s gone). My credit as of now is 715, pretty good for 23 years old I think, and I feel that if I pay everything off and don’t miss any payments (which I never have and never will) I should end up in FL with a darn good score. Right now I am in the middle of reading “Investing in Real Estate 5th Edition” by McLean and Eldred. I have some other books at home that I will read once I finish my current one, and I have thankfully found this site which I browse every single day. Basically I