Need to flip this, but how? - Posted by Karen

Posted by Karen on November 28, 2001 at 17:54:16:

I realized the discrepancy as I typed it and wondered whether to rework it. Sorry. I’m not experienced in guesstimating - but to buy the house today, truly “as-is” would leave the following To Do List:

Finish installing new carpet on stairs and vinyl installation in kitchen. (Goods all ready purchased and partially installed)
Power wash the mildew stains from the outside and decking. Pool needs good scrub.
Haul off about 8 old rusty cars from the surrounding area.
And ALOT of crap from the shed.
Tidy up the yard–tons of leaves.
Spit-polish and shine the inside.

I guess that wouldn’t come close to $10K…my bad.

Talked with the realtor earlier, who wouldn’t disclose mtg. balance, but that owner is very anxious and willing to see “any reasonable offer”. That being said, and after reading your email - I guess a sensible offer would be closer to $100-115K. Is that more in line?

sorry to be so stupid !!!

Thanks!
KL

Need to flip this, but how? - Posted by Karen

Posted by Karen on November 27, 2001 at 18:28:44:

Yes, I’m new. And this will be my first flip, and I’m so excited (the adrenaline rush this biz generates is addictive!) but hesitant.

To whom do I market it? I’m hungry enough to let this fly skinny (Santa needs cold hard cash!) but I don’t know any rehabbers, brokers in my area yet. This property really just needs some junk hauled to the dump and a good cleaning crew, not much rehabbing. And the buyer is extremely anxious to be rid of it - remarried, paying 2 mtgs, was going to rent it out if it didn’t move this week… If I were to use a newspaper ad…saying what? “Cheap house, gotta MOVE IT!”

I ordered Bronchick’s Flipping course, should be here tomorrow. Guess I should wait and read it b4 bothering you wonderfully inspiring, creative, talented people!

Thanks,
KL

Just give her the ad! - Posted by Jon NY

Posted by Jon NY on November 28, 2001 at 12:12:45: