Need advice about my renter

hello. I hope you can give me some good advice on my issue. For a brief back history. I have a detached mother in law apartment that I have been renting out to a man for the past 2 1/2 years. His very good paying job had transferred him about 150 miles to my town. He had connections, family, house and friends that he couldn’t just pull up and move. He has been trying to get transferred back.
I rented the apartment furnished and he payed a deposit and first month. I can say about this renter is that he pays on time every month and is very quiet. We can’t hardly tell he is there. He goes home every weekend taking most of his personal stuff with him.
This is the issue. Although we live next to each other we don’t see him much or go into the apartment except to get the rent check. Things have come up in the last few months. Although he has never been one to clean stuff like tub, sinks, walls, doors( some how they are brown and greasy), things have started to get damaged. First in the middle of last year the water bill climbed slowly up about 100 dollars. In the course of trying to find the issue I asked him if he noticed any water leaks or water running in the toilet. He said no. When we finally looked at the apartment the toilet had a constant run and there was mold around the toilet and on the walls around it. We eventually found the main water issue was in the apartment. In addition to the high water bill we had repair costs to fix the mold problem. This also happened when we were also not living in the main house.
The next issue happened last fall. The apartment has a window unit in the wall for cooling. Last fall it died. When looking at the unit it looks like the filter has never been cleaned. It was caked in dust. We think that killed the unit. This is a additional repair cost.