Major Rehab-need advice - Posted by Brad

Posted by Lance on October 28, 2000 at 19:51:58:

gee pav how many rehabs have your done?

Major Rehab-need advice - Posted by Brad

Posted by Brad on October 28, 2000 at 16:41:07:

Here’s the deal:

I rehab houses and finance with construction loans. I am trying to find out other options on how to buy a property.
I am currently negotiating on a 7b/7ba house that needs major rennovations (1st offer of 110K was countered at 145K)I’m about to make a 2nd offer…

Here’s the numbers:
Asking price: 165K
Comparables: 285K-300K
Rehab costs: 45K-50K
What I think I’ll pay for the house: 125-140K

I have never done a lease option before. I have also never extended myself this much. Could I lease option the house and fix it up and purchase when completed? What would a deal look like? How could I offer this to the seller through a real estate agent? How can I protect myself if the owner defaults on the lease/option and I’ve spent 50K on rehab?

Please help!

Brad

Re: Major Rehab-need advice - Posted by Laure

Posted by Laure on October 29, 2000 at 09:19:32:

Never put YOUR MONEY into a house that doesn’t “belong” to you. Unless, you don’t mind losing 50k.

Laure :slight_smile:

Re: Major Rehab-need advice - Posted by Bill Scott

Posted by Bill Scott on October 29, 2000 at 07:38:47:

You need to find some way to get the deed if you are going to put 50K at risk. If you’ve done rehabs before, you know that your estimate is usually going to wind up being low. Also, figure your holding costs for things like utilities and loan payment each month.