"Lonnie Deals" in Minnesota - Posted by Brian

Posted by Brian on August 04, 2003 at 21:26:30:

Try a search engine. I did an archive search of this message board. I typed in …license minnesota. I found everything I needed that way.

Brian

“Lonnie Deals” in Minnesota - Posted by Brian

Posted by Brian on August 02, 2003 at 16:11:28:

I’m new to the MH game. Minnesota apparently has strict rules as to who can buy and sell MHs for a profit. Apparently, you need two years experience as a MH salesperson in order to obtain a license. There is an exception made to real estate salespeople and brokers. I do not wish to become a salesperson or broker. However, there is a provision in the statute that states that you can be a “limited broker.”

"Subd. 13. Limited broker’s license. (a) The
commissioner shall have the authority to issue a limited real
estate broker’s license authorizing the licensee to engage in
transactions as principal only. Such license shall be issued
only after receipt of the application described in subdivision 3
and payment of the fee prescribed by section 82.21, subdivision

1. No salesperson may be licensed to act on behalf of an
    individual holding a limited broker’s license. An officer of a
    corporation or partner of a partnership licensed as a limited
    broker may act on behalf of that corporation or partnership
    without being subject to the licensing requirements.

(b) A limited broker’s license shall also authorize the
licensee to engage in negotiation of mortgage loans, other than
residential mortgage loans, as described in section 82.17,
subdivision 4, clause (b)."

Limited brokers aren’t subject to the extensive education requirements that regular brokers are. It’s not clear to me if this qualifies me to buy & sell used MHs. Also, note the mention of residential mortgage loans as descibed in section 82.17, subdivision 4, clause (b).

“(b) for another and for commission, fee, or other valuable