Letter of Protection & REITS - Posted by tonyc

Posted by tony on January 31, 2007 at 08:02:46:

thanks Ray,…

Letter of Protection & REITS - Posted by tonyc

Posted by tonyc on January 29, 2007 at 16:29:00:

Hi all,

As a RE Broker, I am tyring to find a letter that will protect me and my souces when i present a property to a REIT for purchase consideration. (i want to make sure they don’t go behind my back or side-step me).

When a buyer does their due-dilligence they will discover the seller’s name or the broker representing the seller.

In other words, if i present a deal to a potential buyer and i don’t have an exclusive, i want the prospective buyer to sign an agreement saying they will not go around me directly to the source.

Does anyone know where i can find such a letter???

Thanks in advance!

TW

Re: Letter of Protection & REITS - Posted by jason (SC)

Posted by jason (SC) on January 29, 2007 at 23:13:28:

tony

i am a broker as well.

I often present development properties to very large companies and rarely use a NDNC.

My experience is its best not to be in a chain. It seems like when a bunch of realtors get together on a deal none of them trust one another and you always see a ton of NCDCs flying around. I have seen a lot of deals recently where when I recieved the property information and there was already 4-5 brokers in the deal.

If i’m not direct with the seller or direct with the buyer - it doesn’t get presented. This saves a lot of agravation, time, headache and heartache.

I feel like a lot of times this releaves some of the need for a NCDC. If there are more that 2 or 3 brokers total - its too crowded

I could rant for hours on commercial brokers and NDNCs

But like Ray said your office should have one - if not talk to your lawyer - I have a simple one page one I use most of the time that I had a lawyer do for me. Short, simple and easy to understand.

jason

Re: Letter of Protection & REITS - Posted by ray@lcorn