lease option - Posted by mike

Posted by Russ Sims on December 30, 1999 at 12:53:15:

Good question about the closing costs.Yes, there will be 2 sets of closing costs to figure in. The above example was predicated on being able to defer closing costs to the seller and your buyer. One way to avoid them entirely is to “assign” the deal to your tenant/buyer. In this case the t/b pays you an assignment fee of say, $3000.00 and then steps into your shoes. Your contract with the seller must give you the right to do this, and it must stipulate that after assignment, you are released from all liability. This is a quick way to get in, get it, and get out. You don’t make as much money but you also have fewer responsibilities…

I’m new at this so I don’t have a long track record to give you averages from, but in 7 months I’ve done 9 of these…average gross profit per deal is probably 10-15K. This is IF the t/b exercises their option. Each of these deals has generated $2-4K in UP FRONT profit.

lease option - Posted by mike

Posted by mike on December 28, 1999 at 23:28:43:

Can anyone explain to me in simple language what a lease option is and how it works?I am a newby and am looking for some direction.Thanx

Re: lease option - Posted by Russ Sims

Posted by Russ Sims on December 29, 1999 at 24:18:11: