L/C or L/O part1&2 - Posted by robert

Posted by Mike Schmidt (IL) on July 29, 2001 at 18:30:16:

I think you should find a different attorney. I am no pro here, but from reading here for several months the subject of using a seperate lease and option have not only been talked about but have held up in court many times. Again this is from the posts here, in fact I think Jim FL had this issue come up before he moved and the judge ruled in his favor because the two contracts WERE seperate.

Maybe the laws are different in your area? Also not sure I understand your first post on the numbers. He is giving you $20K and the balance when he exercises the option would be $190 for a total sell price of $210?? Or the total is $190 MINUS the consideration funds? To me, either way it does not seem out of line, he is getting a nice deal if the total is $190 and getting a pretty fair deal if its for a total of $210 since it appraised for $224K.

What was the big concern? Was it the amount he was putting down?

L/C or L/O part1&2 - Posted by robert

Posted by robert on July 29, 2001 at 01:08:23:

part 1

i have a house that i have been trying to sell for sometime now and have i have someone that wants to
L/C or L/O it.

facts-

1. buyer has 20k to put down.
  2. he is self employed for the last 9 months.
  3. his credit is not the best.
  4. i owe 179k on the home payments of 1600 month.
  5. he will L/C or L/O.
  6. sell price of 190k with 20k down and payments made to me of 1700.
  7. contract or option for 2 years then he must try to get a loan from a back or we go for 2 more years.

??? how do i cover my behind on this? i have talked to him and his wife over and over just to get a
feel for them and thay seem like there trying to do the right things.

worries-
i’m worried that if thay can’t make the payments that thay may damage the place. but i do have 20k?

now for part 2
Well I talked to two lawyers today about L/O this home and here is the advice they gave me: