Is this ethical? - Posted by Brian

Posted by Rich-CA on October 28, 2008 at 24:03:44:

The idea that anyone would sign a blank sales agreement with no price inserted sounds a lot like the type of activity many state attorney generals are trying to criminalize. For one thing, nothing would prevent the holder of the signed sales agreement from putting $1 into the sale price and then suing to force the sale. Or some such activity being termed “equity theft” these days.

An “option” is an agreement to sell at the option holder’s request at a specific price. Without the price filled in on the option, it is of questionable legality.

Is this ethical? - Posted by Brian

Posted by Brian on October 27, 2008 at 21:26:23:

Wanted to quote part of an article written by Tom Severino who was a trainee of Ron LeGrand. It is on Options to Purchase Real Estate. Mainly I’m wanting to know this because I am studying up contracts and I’ve never heard of doing Options this way. Please tell me what you think.

"An Option to Purchase is a much simpler way to do these transactions. With an Option to Purchase you have a purchase and sales agreement with your seller, the buyers name and sales price are not filled out since you donâ??t know this information yet.

There is also an Option Agreement between you and the seller for the price you agree on.

Let me make this simple for you. You agree to buy a property for $250,000.00; you tie this up with the option agreement. You also have your seller sign a Purchase and Sales Agreement with the buyerâ??s name and purchase amount blank. I have had sellers question me on this, and I simply say I donâ??t have the buyer yet, when we do they will be in that slot. We have not had anyone walk away yet, but keep in mind, if this is an issue, then they will probably be a bigger pain in the neck later. Let them go.