investing in triple net lease properties - Posted by sam

Posted by Don M on December 09, 2004 at 17:07:45:

I agree. This is the big bonus for Walgreens. They are not stuck with
the real estate, you are. As the neighborhood or traffic patterns
change, they will be free to move at the end of the lease.

-Don M

investing in triple net lease properties - Posted by sam

Posted by sam on December 04, 2004 at 01:06:01:

Im gathering information in order to learn about triple net lease properties with popular brand name companies. i.e fast food franchise, walgreens, autozone, etc.

Im particualarly intrigued by them because they appear not to need much management and the cashflow is very consistent.

What should I look for in purchasing these properties?
Should I expect to pay 10 or 20% down?
Even if I have enough for a downpayment, how important is good credit in order to secure a loan?
Pros/cons?

Im new to this arena so any advice you can give is appreciated

sam

Re: investing in triple net lease properties - Posted by Mark Reynolds

Posted by Mark Reynolds on December 08, 2004 at 17:59:14:

Well a few points here.

Most of the decent NNN properties are currently trading at cap rates pretty close to the best lending rate you can reasonably expect to get. Yes the lender will care a lot more about the tenants credit than yours but leverage doesn’t help you here because there is no rate “premium”.

I think Carlos is right. If cap rates rise (and they are almost certain to do so given that they are at historic lows) the value of these properties will decline from the current high.

If you want to make some money in NNN you essentially have to take the development risk, i.e. buy the land, find the tenant, build the building, sell it to somebody else at these cap rates. I have a vacant lot on a busy corner if you are interested. I’d joint venture as well.

Re: investing in triple net lease properties - Posted by Carlos

Posted by Carlos on December 04, 2004 at 08:25:16: