I viewed my first rentals - Posted by kay

Posted by Joe P on May 11, 2001 at 21:02:41:

Kay
Don’t give up! keep looking. I thougt the same thing. I also took my father with me to look. If I listen to him I would have never continued… that was five properties ago. Now I am looking for my sixth. People do live like you described, but people also take care of the property they rent. So you just happened to view a couple of properties that are not in good shape. If I would have to say, I must view ten to fifteen properties before I put in an offer. Do not give up… Joe P.

I viewed my first rentals - Posted by kay

Posted by kay on May 11, 2001 at 20:01:38:

I finally decided to make a move and called on a few rental properties in our area. This is my first time and I was appalled! The outsides looked great but as I viewed the insides I sometimes had to hold my breath. I wouldn’t let my dog live in any of the four I looked at! Clothes, dirt, cat litter, no sheets on the beds, food, beer cans, holes in the walls, unclothed babys…I could go on and on–and sellers all wanted good money for these dumps. Is this the way renters live? My dad tried to warn me.
I guess my real question is- Am I supposed to just overlook the filth because I do not plan to live there?

Looking in the wrong area? - Posted by mel

Posted by mel on May 13, 2001 at 10:38:27: