I need time!!! - Posted by kevin (tn)

Posted by kevin (tn) on May 01, 2002 at 15:50:32:

Thanks for your response. I too find tv a waste of time. I have only one in the house and no cable. I am also up until 12 or 1 reading just about every night and learning all I can. I have managed to buy two duplexes as rentals over the last few months, but I guess I feel like I’m not moving as fast as I would like to move. Again, thanks for your response.

I need time!!! - Posted by kevin (tn)

Posted by kevin (tn) on May 01, 2002 at 14:15:10:

For those of you out there that have full-time jobs and a family, how do you find time to devote to your real estate business?

My income is decent, I have some knowledge, I just don’t have much time other than late nights to read and study. Any good suggestions?

Re: I need time!!! - Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA)

Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA) on May 02, 2002 at 21:24:23:

Kevin–I got your email response saying that you compare yourself to those who post here doing many deals a year. I lost your email apparently.

The people who do a lot of deals are transaction investors. They buy and resell quickly. Some fix up some do not. But they are not the long-term hold rental investors. My impression is that many of them build up enough money and experience that they do
buy some holder properties too.

The slow, patient rental investor need not be racing. Work at a pace that fits your temperment, resources, desires, and opportunities. Many long-term invests start by paying market value for their properties. Sounds like you have already beaten that formula–having bought one of your duplexes on an auction, at what was a good price.

You could, if it suits you, emulate some bargain-buyers. They just keep alert for potential good deals, watch and wait. Then, when one comes along, the move out, usually quite quickly, and snatch it. Often they do no advertising. They just know what to look for and keep their eyes open.