How to structure this Deal? - Posted by Road

Posted by ray@lcorn on July 27, 2004 at 10:18:47:

Road,

I’d leave magic to David Copperfield… and in a case like this you want the owner out of the picture, or at least sufficiently contained to do no harm.

Sounds like a major turnaround. Sometimes the best option is to tear it down and start over, but that requires getting the property at or below the value of the dirt.

Wonder what maximum density and uses are allowed under the current zoning? Could the dirt be worth more than the present use?

ray

How to structure this Deal? - Posted by Road

Posted by Road on July 25, 2004 at 15:57:49:

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I notice you guys give a lot of good advice in this forum on deal sructuring which I am still learning. Here is a property I am looking at and trying to determine if it is worth spending anymore time on it.

32 units (16 1Br’s, 16 Studios)
4 bldgs (4-1BR’s, 4-Stu’s)/per bldg
17 units occupied 47% vac
1 BR’s rent $375, Studios rent $325( potential 1br $425, Stu $375)
Gross income currently $5125/mo
Units individually metered
Appraised in 2003 for $580K
1st and 2nd Mortgages $395K
Current Debt svc is $3,223.33/mo
Owner wants $35K down and someone to take over under any terms reasonable (very flexible i.e wrap mortgage, lease option, etc.)
Back taxes of $15K
Needs $70K in rehab to modernize some units and curb appeal.
B- property in A- location with Medical Schools and medical facilities surrounding it.

Any creative ideas to structure this project will be welcomed. Anything, I need ideas on how you guys would approach this including run away.

Road…

Re: How to structure this Deal? - Posted by ray@lcorn

Posted by ray@lcorn on July 26, 2004 at 11:07:34:

Road,

Sounds like a motivated seller, or if not he/she sure should be.