How to avoid naming a price.... - Posted by mk

Posted by Dr. Craig Whisler CA on April 15, 2002 at 21:42:19:

Nice to know someone reads this stuff more carefully than I write it. I didn’t notice it until after it was already posted. Then it was too late to hide my ignorance. Thanks for bringing this to my (lack of) attention.

Tim send me your number and I’ll fax you a Big Mac. :~)

Regards, doc

How to avoid naming a price… - Posted by mk

Posted by mk on April 15, 2002 at 13:02:36:

Hi
I am a newbie. Reading lonnie books. Already placed an ad in one the the thrify classfieds. I have interesting question.

According to Lonnie and other experts…I should be a good listener and let the seller name the price.

Once the seller names his price say 13K for a MH. I intend to buy for ~3K only. I tell him that the price is way too high for me.

Then now the seller wants to know how much I can I pay for the MH. I try to avoid the answer…But since he has named is price he expects me to name a price…

So how do we avoid naming a price. OR you guys think I should say 3K especially when the seller is insisting.
I would think that seller might throw me out of his house if I had said 3K (LOL)

How do the pros handle the situation. The last guy I met he was on my tail to get a price out of me. Man!! I had a tough time (LOL) and belive me I never named a price after the seller’s 45 minute effort. Dont know if I was trying to be true Lonnie fan or I was just trying to avoid being thrown out of that house by saying 3 K.

Help me guys.

Happy investing
MK

Re: How to avoid naming a price… - Posted by Chuck-NY

Posted by Chuck-NY on April 16, 2002 at 19:50:57:

One thing I have said is: “I would rather have you name the price because you are the one who has to be happy with the final sale price.”

This is very true because no one can come back on you to say you took advantage of the seller if the seller names the price.

I also use the “higher authority” way and then tell the